After You

There will never be a night without a dawn.

A lot of things are different

A lot have stayed the same

A lot I’m still not sure if I

Can deal with after you.

You’ve changed your mind so often

So much so that I’ve tried

To understand how things could be

All better after you.

You promised me forever

And I held on to your words

I never though I’d hurt so much

Not until after you.

My sorrow wouldn’t end that’s why

I looked for peace within

The peace I never felt before

But only after you.

I’ve picked up all the pieces

Of my life that you dismissed

It will take time but surely

I’ll be better after you.

Standing on my feet again

I’ve never felt so fine

To think that just a while ago

I’ve been running after you.

A lot of things are different

A lot have stayed the same

I’m still the woman you once loved

But wisdom I have gained

I’ll give my life not sparingly

But only to the man

Who knows, respects and loves me

For the woman that I am.

22-Aug-2005

1 Comment

Filed under 2010

One response to “After You

  1. Vimal

    “But wisdom I have gained” 🙂

Leave a Reply

